1010 Vienna, Albertinaplatz 1, former Tarouca Palace (690.848)
General and Historical Facts
In 1745, Emanuel Teles Count Sylva Tarouca built a three-storey place on top of the Augustinian bastion. Emperor Leopold II (1747–1792) gave away Tarouca Palace situated to the south of the Augustinian monastery to Duke Albert of Saxony Teschen and his wife Marie Christine (daughter of Empress Maria Theresa) as a gift. As of 1800, Louis Montoyer started to redesign and expand it (modernisation of the monastery wing, expansion of the Palace) in order to fit in all the master pieces and prints.
After Albert Duke of Saxony Teschen’s death in 1822, the Palace became the property of the Habsburg family (Archduke Charles). Subsequently, it was completely restructured by Joseph Kornhäusel and the rooms redecorated featuring the Classicist style. Between1864 and1869, following the demolition of the fortifications, the remainder of the bastion was redesigned by Moritz von Löhr into the so-called Albrecht ramp (Albrechtsrampe) and to accommodate the Danubius fountain. Later, the equestrian statue for Albrecht of Carl von Zumbusch was added.
After the collapse of the monarchy, the Palace became the property of the Republic. In 1920, the collection and the prints were merged with the imperial court library. In 1921, the collection was named "Albertina Graphic Collection". Shortly prior to the end of the Second World War, the Palace was severely damaged by bombing. It was subject to considerable interventions in the course of its reconstruction (1948–1950=: the long access ramp was removed, stairways were added, the main entrance was relocated from the bastion to Augustinerstraße Street and the façade was removed to a large extent.
The museum had to be closed in the 1990s due to the need to renovate the building. The latter was expanded in the course of the renovation to include a study building, two exhibition halls and an underground storage area. Furthermore, the facade’s optics from 1822 were restored, the entrance was moved back to the front side of the building, the inner courtyard was covered and the state rooms were restored. Also, Albrecht Ramp was equipped with an oversized canopy designed by Hans Hollein. The museum reopened in 2003. Albertina’s graphic collection houses unique and precious art gems from virtually every era and art movement. Works by Albrecht Dürer, Michelangelo Buonarotti, Leonardo da Vinci, Rembrandt van Rijn, Peter Paul Rubens, Edouard Manet, Paul Cézanne, Egon Schiele, Gustav Klimt, Oskar Kokoschka and Pablo Picasso deserve special mention.
Burghauptmannschaft Österreich – Departments in charge:
Building Management Dep. 301 – Congress Center
HVAC Dep. 306 – HVAC
Property Management Dep. 201 – Administration